Prijavi se na European Press Prize!

2 dec
Rok prijave 13.12.2019

Deadline: 13 December 2019

Applications are now open for the European Press Prize to enhance Journalism of the highest quality in 47 countries of Europe.

The European Press Prize is legally represented by its board. Selected and appointed for a three-year period – the board consists of representatives from the member foundations. The board is responsible for policy and the realisation of the mission and objectives of the European Press Prize.

The aim of The European Press Prize is simple to salute and encourage journalism of the highest quality wherever it can be found in continent.


The European Press Prize is awarded in four different categories. Each award is for 10,000 euros, to be spent wherever possible on a personal project that may, in turn, enrich the practice of journalism. The judges are also empowered to award a special prize for particular excellence. The nominated works will be published on the website of the European Press Prize.

Investigative Reporting Award – For discovering and revealing facts, exposing hidden news to the public
Investigative reporting is one of journalism’s core duties. It means journalists either alone or in teams discovering and revealing facts that would otherwise remain hidden stories of corruption or neglect in business, secret deals in politics and hidden crimes of war, from an international scale to that of one hospital or one person.

Distinguished Reporting Award – For exceptional reporting, telling a story in the best possible way
The worlds of investigation and brilliant description or narrative blend into each other. Great journalism can reveal and describe in a single article. But this is the category in news, features, business and sport where fine reportage belongs.

Opinion Award– For a remarkable textual interpretation of the world they live in
In print and online, opinion is one of the basic forms of journalism. Columnists explain, interpret and give a particular focus to the news. Commentators help cast off old ideas and develop new ones. Opinion is journalism’s essential commentary on the world they live in.

Innovation Award – For challenging the current boundaries of journalism by finding new ways to engage with audiences
This category, shifting focus from year to year as new trends in journalism develop, salutes reporting, analysis and technical developments that seeks to break new ground online – or off. Entries should detail what’s new here and how it enlarges horizons.

Special Award – The judges award a special prize for excellent journalism to one striking entry which defies categories and disciplines
Each year European Press Prize judges have the power to single out some area of special excellence in European journalism. Sometimes as in 2015 the judges may recognise particular achievements in international data journalism. Sometimes as in 2016 they recognised the weight and brilliance of much of the reporting of Europe’s migrant crisis.

Eligibility Criteria

Journalists from all 47 countries of Europe as defined by the Council of Europe are eligible to enter their work;
Journalists working in Europe and journalists writing for a European media organisation or blog can submit their work;
The work submitted must have a publication date between December 1, 2018 and December 31, 2019;
The articles may be in any language, but accompanied by a synopsis in English (250 words maximum), explaining the theme of the article(s), together with an assessment of its impact and reception. If you need assistance with writing this in English, please reach out to the European Press Prize.

Eligible Countries: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Holy See (Vatican City State), Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Montenegro, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom

How to Apply

Entries can be sent in using the entry form via given website, which requires to add the full text of the entry as a word or PDF file.

For more information, please visit

(Visited 131 times, 1 visits today)
Podijelite članak:
Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter